Skip to main content

Parent Connection

Helpful Contacts

Carthage College Point of Contact List 

Please use this Contact List as a starting point for questions or concerns you may have. We are pleased to partner with you in making sure that your student enjoys a successful experience during their years at Carthage.

Please note: Because of federal laws, issues that are held confidential (i.e. grades, mental health matters, physical health issues, etc.) cannot be shared with anyone without a signed release statement from the student permitting the disclosure of the information.

Academic Concerns


Academic advising, performance, grade changes, tutoring, academic support services, classroom accommodations, etc.

Department/Topic Name/Position Phone Email
Academic Advising
First Year Students
Center for Student Success 262‑551‑5800 studentsuccess@carthage.edu
Academic Advising
Upper Level Students
Individual faculty advisors or
Academic Affairs
Varies Varies
Registrar’s Office Brigid Patterson 262‑551‑6100 registrar@carthage.edu
Academic Resource Centers Jean Preston, Writing Center 262‑551‑5755 mpreston@carthage.edu
  Diane Schowalter, Accessibility Services 262‑551‑5802 dschowalter1@carthage.edu
  Emily Janssen, Tutoring and
Supplemental Instruction
262‑551‑6047 ejanssen1@carhage.edu

Housing Concerns


Housing options/process, roommate conflicts, housing accommodation, permission to commute, etc.

Department/Topic Name/Position Phone Email
Residential Life Office Doug Haltinner, Asst. Dean of Students/Director of Residential Life 262‑551‑5800 housing@carthage.edu
  Hall Directors 262‑551‑5800 housing@carthage.edu

Food/Dining


Meal plans, special dietary restrictions/needs, special events, etc.

Department/Topic Name/Position Phone Email
Sodexo’s Dining Service Brian Smoko, Director 262‑551‑6240 bsmoko@carthage.edu
  Diane Hoffman, Catering Manager 262‑551‑5360 dhoffman1@carthage.edu

Campus Safety/Parking


Parking regulations and permits, campus safety reporting, break shuttles, training, etc.

Department/Topic Name/Position Phone Email
Security Office John Klabechek, Director 262‑551‑5911 jklabecheck@carthage.edu

Health Concerns


Physical health appointments, mental health concerns, referrals, etc.

Department/Topic Name/Position Phone Email
Student Health Services Rachel Blut, Nurse 262‑551‑5710 health@carthage.edu
Counseling Services Mary Belknap, Counselor 262‑551‑5777 Call directly please.

Student Conduct


Violations of student code of conduct, course catalog, academic integrity, etc.

Department/Topic Name/Position Phone Email
Office of Student Conduct Nick Winkler, Associate Dean
of Students / Director of
Student Conduct
262‑551‑5800 nwinkler@carthage.edu
Academic Affairs David Steege, Associate Provost 262‑551‑5847 provost@carthage.edu

Involvement on Campus


Resources and connections to organizations, offices and programs students can become involved with to facilitate opportunities to explore personal interests and connect with Carthage.

Department/Topic Name/Position Phone Email
Student Involvement Office Becky Windberg,
Asst. Dean of Students/
Director of Student Involvement
262‑551‑5800 rwindberg@carthage.edu
  Lance Thompson,
Asst. Director of Student Involvement
262‑551‑5800 lthompson5@carthage.edu
Intramurals Student Interns 262‑551‑6607 imleagues@carthage.edu
Club Sports Chris Barker, Director of Athletic Operations 262‑551‑6177 cbarker1@carthage.edu
Center for Faith and Spirituality Kara Baylor, Campus Pastor 262‑551‑5812 kbaylor@carthage.edu

Financial Issues


Financial Aid, scholarships, grants, student employment, tuition bills, charges, meal plans/points, etc.

Department/Topic Name/Position Phone Email
Office of Student Financial Planning Vatistas Vatistas, Associate Vice President for Financial Aid 262‑551‑6001 finaid@carthage.edu
Office of Student Accounts Nate Spangler, Manager of Student Financial Accounts 262‑551‑5771 nspangler@carthage.edu
Student Employment Jeffrey Teague, Asst. Director of Financial Aid 262‑551‑6001 finaid@carthage.edu

Student Advocacy


Concerns regarding immigration, study abroad and/or off-campus, adjustment issues and general support.

Department/Topic Name/Position Phone Email
Study Abroad and J-Term Programming Erik Kulke, Director of Education Abroad 262‑551‑5916 ekulke@carthage.edu
Center for Student Success Carrie Hogan, Interim Director 262‑551‑5800 chogan1@carthage.edu
Dean of Students Office Nick Winkler,
Associate Dean of Students/
Director of Student Conduct
262‑551‑5800 nwinkler@carthage.edu
Center for Faith and Spirituality Kara Baylor, Campus Pastor 262‑551‑5812 kbaylor@carthage.edu

Athletics/Intramurals


Questions regarding student athlete experience, student fitness/wellness and intramurals.

Department/Topic Name/Position Phone Email
Athletics Department Central Office Jacqueline May, Administrative Assistant 262‑551‑5942 jmay@carthage.edu
Fitness/Wellness Programming Tyler Prochnow, Tarble Athletic and Recreation Center Supervisor 262‑551‑6607 tprochnow@carthage.edu
Intramurals Student Interns 262‑551‑6607 imleagues@carthage.edu

Transportation Information


In the event of an emergency, please contact the Security Office for assistance 262-551-5911.